Members Serving local communities

Learn how to join TDHA and ADHA or renew your member- ship.  What are membership advantages 

Governmental Affairs

Eyes of TDHA on Texas Legislature

TDHA supports Texas Hy-Pac and informs legislators of current dental hygiene issues, learn how to get involved....

Student's Corner

Info Students need now and as you transition...
News you can really use: Scholarships, Student Annual Session, NBR Exam, Graduate Transition..


Working with dental industry leaders
TDHA members bring lessons learned in the work place to TDHA members..

Your 2013-2014 Officers

President – Kris Potts, RDH, BS

Kris Potts, has been a practicing clinical Dental Hygienist for over 32 years, graduating from Tarrant County College and most recently from O’Hehir University with a BS in Oral Health Promotion.
Kris is an active member of the ADHA where she has served as a Delegate representing Texas hygienists, a member of the American Academy of Dental Hygiene and the American Academy for Oral Systemic Health. She has served as President of the Greater Fort Worth Dental Hygienists Society, President Elect and 1st Vice President of the Texas Dental Hygienists Association and also serves as Website Maintenance Chair. She earned the Member of the Year award from her component twice, and was also honored with the Distinguished Service Award from TDHA in 2009. She was selected to attend ADHA’s Unleashing Your Potential Workshop in 2011 and to participate in the Sunstar Discovery Program in 2012. She travels the South Central US presenting Xylitol education courses to dental offices, hygiene components, state meetings, study clubs, dental and hygiene students and exhibits at some of the major dental events in her eight-state territory.

President-Elect – LeeAnn Winkler, RDH, BSDH

LeeAnn Winkler, RDH, BSDH graduated from Baylor College of Dentistry - Caruth School of Dental Hygiene in 1982.
She has been a clinical dental hygienist for over 30 years. LeeAnn has always been involved in volunteerism, volunteering her time and energies to the PTA, Booster Club, Mesquite Citizen Police Academy Alumni Association where she was honored as Texas CPAAA volunteer of the year in 2008, and the University of North Texas Parents' Association where she and her husband Terry served as Presidents for the 2007-2008 school year.
Since become reactive in the TDHA, she has just finished serving as 2nd Vice-President and as ADHA Delegation Co-Chair. She is also serving on many committees. On the ADHA level she was selected this year to Chair the Minutes review Committee for the 2013 House of Delegates, was the 2012 ADHE Delegation Student Liaison, was selected to participate in the Accreditation Feasibility Focus Group and has been a participant in ADHA's Unleashing Your Potential. She is the current President for the Dallas component.
LeeAnn has been married to her husband Terry for 27 years. They have one daughter, Shannon who married her husband Mark in July 2012. In her spare time LeeAnn loves to read and do crafts. Many of her projects have raised money for our association.

Secretary/Treasurer - Hope Garza, RDH, BS

Hope attended Texas Woman’s University in Denton, TX where she received a Bachelors of Science degree in dental hygiene in 1975. She returned to Houston after graduation and has practiced in a general practice setting since 1975. Hope currently works in a group practice.
She has been an ADHA member for 38 years plus her two years as a student member. Hope has held numerous leadership positions on the component, state and national level. She is currently serving as TDHA Secretary/Treasurer, Alternate ADHA Delegate and GHDHS Roster Committee Chair and IOH Liaison.
Hope enjoys traveling and is looking forward to a walking trip to Italy this fall. She is a long time season ticket holder for the Houston Ballet and loves baseball, even though the Houston Astros have not been doing well the last few years but there is always next year. She loves reading and usually has two or three books she is reading at any given time.

1st Vice President – Denise Frank, RDH, BS

In 2002, Denise graduated with honors from Baylor College of Dentistry – Caruth School of Dental Hygiene, earning a Bachelor of Science in Dental Hygiene. She has been an active member of ADHA since her student membership in 2000. Denise is a past President of her home component in Dallas and has served on the DDHS Executive Board in various other capacities along with Chairing many Committees. She served as TDHA Trustee for Dallas prior to running for TDHA First Vice-President. This will be Denise’s third term as TDHA First Vice-President and third year as Tex HyPAC Treasurer. She is also a member of various TDHA Councils and Committees. Denise enjoys the networking and friendships formed all over the state through active involvement in our professional organizations. She is married and her husband Ted is in the golf business and an avid golfer. She is proud that their two sons have completed their college education and are out of the nest. She loves her two Chihuahua’s, enjoys traveling, golfing, camping and spending time with friends and family.

2nd Vice President – Jodie Hostetter, RDH, BSDH

Jodie Hostetter, RDH, BSDH is a 2010 graduate of the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She has been an active member in the San Antonio component since graduation and serves on various committees that include Public Relations, Oral Cancer Walk, Budget and Finance, and a member of the Board. Ms. Hostetter also has the privilege to be a member of the San Antonio District Dental Society’s Smiles of Hope committee, the Texas Oral Health Coalition, and the American Association of Public Health Dentistry. Recently elected to the Texas Dental Hygienists’ Association board as 2nd Vice President, she is also an Area Media Spokesperson committee member and Public Affairs committee member.
Ms. Hostetter has always been passionate about the community and public health. She is currently a dental hygienist in the public sector for the San Antonio Metropolitan Health District and the Department of State Health Services. Ms. Hostetter has been appointed adjunct faculty at UTHSCSA since August 2012, where she supervises dental hygiene students working in a public health setting.
Jodie, as she prefers to be called, is a single mom of one daughter and a mixed Shih Tzu/Chihuahua. She spends her free time cycling on the open road, at the tennis courts with her daughter, or in her hometown of Fredericksburg with her family.

Immediate Past President – Monna Carpenter-Barin, RDH, BS, OM, SLP

Monna graduated with honors, in May 2004, from the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio with a Certificate in Dental Hygiene. Prior to this accomplishment, she practiced as a Licensed Speech Language Pathologist primarily in the public schools working with special needs children. Monna says that belonging to your professional organization reflects the commitment you have made to your career. It also helps you to stay knowledgeable about the most current changes which are impacting your profession. Monna continues to be very active on the state and local levels, serving in multiple leadership roles in San Antonio including President, Vice President, Treasurer, and incoming Trustee. At the National level, she has represented TDHA as both a Delegate and Alternate to the ADHA Annual Session on multiple occasions and she served on ADHA’s Finance Committee for several years. In 2009, Monna was the recipient of the TDHA Future Leader of the Year Award. Monna, Glenn, her husband of 26 years, and Honey, their boxer, have recently relocated to outside the San Marcos area.

Speaker of the House - Cathy Blunck, RDH